Failure- Complete

 

Hello Followers!

It’s nice to have more than 2 people from my immediate blood line following my blog!  I have had a great week and have been busy cooking and baking.  This week I completed my second night of a two-night course on Yeast Breads through the University of Richmond.  It was so much fun, and I love meeting new people.  You would be amazed at who my fellow chefs were for the night … Doctors, PA’s and a new friend who was just recently published in the Richmond Magazine and was on one of the morning talk shows!

So, I have to admit that last night at my baking class, I FAILED at making my Sweet Bread Wreath Recipe!  In front of 15 other people!!! Thankfully I can laugh about it, and it is a class so we do learn from our mistakes. Do you want to know what I did?  It was so bad …  the chef even said with a smirk, ” Maybe we shouldn’t even bother baking it!”  I am still laughing as I write this!  I was making a wreath style sweet yeast bread which sounds as cool as it “should” have looked. I failed to READ the directions correctly, and didn’t split the recipe in half, so the wreath was literally HUGE.  As in the size of a holiday wreath, for your front door!  As it continued to rise, it became very apparent that it wasn’t going to fit on a regular baking pan. In fact, the chef feared that if it rose anymore it would EXPLODE!  I should have taken a picture, but was shamed by the chef, so I literally hid the bread until it was ready to bake. It turned out … well HUGE but fortunately as students we didn’t know what it should have looked like.

So, here’s to happy baking and failure! Lesson learned, READ THE DIRECTIONS!

Lame.

Denise

 

One Reply to “Failure- Complete”

Leave a Reply

