Living the Dream …

Baking with Denise

Tuesdays With Dorie (TWD)- Hazelnut Biscotti

My boys are both in school and for SOME reason I thought I would be bored.  When they started school in August, I signed up for a 6 week photography class.  (I was hopeful that my pictures on the blog would be better -who knew there were so many options on a camera?)   My husband had surprised me with a nice DSLR Canon before our oldest was born …THAT WAS ALMOST 8 YEARS AGO!  Could I possibly HINT anymore that I am ready for NEW CAMERA!

I love biscotti!  It’s basically a cookie that is baked twice.  So, it’s supposed to be dry and crunchy.  In Italy, where the first biscotti’s were made, they were actually dipped in wine.  Traditionally in the states, we dip them in a nice hot cup of coffee – maybe I need to try (dipping in wine) the Italian method!  The Chocolate Truffle Tart recipe, from another TWD recipe that I blogged about a few months back calls for broken up pieces of almond biscotti to give it a nice crunch!  Although I only needed two for that recipe I admit that I bought 2 whole boxes. They were devoured in 3 days!

Let’s get started!  As I have mentioned in other Tuesday With Dorie blogs, I can’t give out the recipe on my blog but you can find it HERE or HERE.  You could also buy Dorie Greenspan’s book called Baking with Julia. (aka Julia Child!)

Today we are going to make Hazelnut Biscotti. I have never worked with hazelnut’s before and had no idea that you are suppose to take off the skin.

IMG_1054

You boil the nuts with baking soda and that softens the skin so you can easily rub the skin off with your fingers.

IMG_1058

Honestly, I may have to stop here with my directions.

IMG_1062

You can easily click on the above two links and they will take you to the full recipe.

IMG_1064

After trying one bite of this, I realized that I DON’T LIKE HAZELNUTS!  So, I am sitting here at my computer feeling no particular passion for writing about this.

I did make some chocolate biscotti a few years back. I am going to have to find that recipe and share it with you all.  They were awesome … plus I read about a lemon and almond one too. Yum!

Don’t Bake- unless you like hazelnuts.

Denise

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie (TWD)- Hazelnut Biscotti

  1. jean marie on said:

    Oh, that’s so disappointing for you, to find out you don’t like hazelnuts? They look yummy to me!

  2. Jim Fuller on said:

    Like your blog

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

