Living the Dream …

Baking with Denise

TWD- Semolina Bread

I love making bread!  Okay, honestly, I love eating homemade bread that has just been pulled from the oven!

It didn’t take much to get me fired up to do this TWD recipe.  As you know by now, I can’t post the full recipe but you can find the full recipe HERE and HERE.  You could also check out Dorie Greenspan’s book … it’s awesome!

Let’s get started!

Today, we will use the food processor for the entire recipe.  I LOVE THAT!  I can wash all the parts in the dishwasher.  That is KEY!  I hate doing dishes.  When I say ALL, I obviously don’t mean the base with the cord.  I KNOW my readers are smarter than that, even those first timers in the kitchen!

In order to start this bread you must create a “sponge.”  I know, I had never heard of that either until I started to make breads.  It’s basically yeast, water and a small amount of flour. You whisk those ingredients together in a small bowl and then let them rise – covered for about 2 hours until doubled.

After the sponge has risen, it’s time to add in the rest of the dry ingredients.   For the flour portion we are going to use Semonlina flour.  You would normally find that in pastas if you are wondering where you have heard of that word before.

Then you let the dough rise (covered) for another 2 hours for what bakers call the “First Rise”, until it doubles in size. I always put mine in a large see-through bowl so I can tell when it’s doubled.

After it’s doubled in size, you literally flatten the dough with a few punches (no kidding).  Then gently tuck the edges under and shape it  into a rectangle.  Place the loaf on a parchment lined baking sheet and let it rise again, uncovered for another 2 hours before baking it.  The last step, which I thought was cool, is to take a new razor blade or very sharp knife and slice 3-4 diagonal slash lines on the top for an artisan look.

Bake until the inside reaches 210 degrees.  I know, who knew that there was a temperature on bread too.  I use my same $8 digital thermometer that I use for checking temperatures on proteins. (fish, chicken, pork or red meat)

This recipe was really easy and tasted great.  Very light dinner bread or great for toast.

Enjoy and Bake On!

Denise

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “TWD- Semolina Bread

  1. Whitney on said:

    That sounds yummy… a little brie or butter and I would be in heaven….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

