Living the Dream …

Baking with Denise

Amazing Creme Brûlée with 4 ingredients!

I’m back with a new recipe … and a few helpful hints for those of you who are new to baking.

July was HOT in VA.  Yes, I know it’s hot everywhere … but 95 degrees with 95% humidity each day just makes me close all the blinds, crank down the A/C and hibernate with some good cooking magazines.  I swear, I pulled out 100 recipes in the last month.  One of them that caught my eye and motivated me to get back into the kitchen involved using a TORCH!  Oh you heard that right … you will need a torch for this recipe. You can purchase one at any kitchen store ($25) or at amazon.com. Honestly, even if this recipe was terrible, I’d find another reason to use that torch!  It’s fun!

I have added a new magazine to my grouping this year, Saveur.  I was reading the June/July 2012 issue when I came across a 4 ingredient recipe for Creme Brûlée by Gabriella Gershenson’s.  I was pretty confident that I couldn’t screw that up! :)

Let’s get started with our Mise En Place (putting everything in its place) 

  • 1 qt heavy cream
  • 1 vanilla bean – split in half, (longways and try not to cut through) and scrape out all the tiny black seeds, reserve
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 8 egg yolks. (Don’t forget to always use LARGE eggs unless otherwise noted) Extra Large eggs will change the consistency because of the weight of the yolk will be more. (Save your whites for an omelet or to make meringue cookies.  And yes, you can FREEZE egg whites in a freezer zip lock bag!)
  • *8 c of boiling water for the water bath
  • Turbinado Sugar, (raw sugar) for serving

To begin, in a large saucepan, heat the heavy cream, vanilla bean and seeds over medium high heat, stir occasionally until it simmers. (Simmer means that it will just begin to boil)  Remove from heat once it simmers and let it sit for about 30 minutes.   It’s time to PREHAT your oven to 300.  I always use the convection setting as it allows for a more even temperature.  You can also start to boil your 8 cups of water for your water bath at this point.

While the cream and vanilla are infusing, I move onto the next step of separating out my 8 yolks into a mixing bowl.

Then I whisk the egg yolks and the 3/4 c sugar together until they lighten in color and are smooth, about a minute.   Set Aside.

Once the heavy cream has rested for the 30 minutes, I slowly pour the cream through a metal strainer, (to remove any film and discard the vanilla pod) into the egg and sugar mixture, whisking until smooth. Set Aside.

Have you ever done a water bath before?  The technique allows for the crème brûlée to gently bake while retaining moisture.   I use a glass 9 x 13  pan as my base.  I line the bottom of the pan with one paper towel, so my ramekins won’t slide and then place my unfilled ramekins in the glass pan.  (You could use any small oven safe container) 

I fill them 3/4 full with the mixture. Then I slowly add enough boiling water to reach the halfway point of the ramekins.

I slowly place the baking dish into the preheated oven. The recipe says to bake them for 35 minutes, mine took about 40 minutes. You want  the mixture to “set” but still have movement in the middle.  I test the doneness but nudging the oven rack to see how much the mixture would move. (be careful of the hot water)  When it barely jiggles,  I remove the pan from the oven.  I carefully use tongs to lift them from the baking pan and then cool them on a wire rack.  Next, I chill them in the fridge for at least 4 hours (covered). You can freeze them at this point, too. I gently place plastic wrap onto the top of each ramekin and then put them carefully in a gallon size freezer bag.  
Last step … and I know the one you have waited for!  Get out the torch!  Take the chilled crème brûlée out of the fridge or freezer.  If there is any condensation, lightly use a paper towel to wipe that off. (I took off a good layer the first time I tried to wipe off the condensation …)  Sprinkle about 1 t of Turbinado sugar (amount will vary, depending on the size of your ramekin) onto the top each ramekin.

Then FIRE up the torch and go back and forth over the top of the crème brûlée.  You will slowly start to see the sugar caramelize!  If you are pulling your crème brûlée out of the freezer, let it defrost in the fridge for about 4 hours.

Enjoy!

Let’s be honest … cream, sugar, egg yolks – this one is absolutely fat-free!  lol!  I did try to use whole milk to lower the calories …it flopped.  I have seen other low fat recipes that use corn starch.  You could try that or just SHARE a small portion of this one!

Bake on, then go outside and run around your neighborhood, do 50 squats, 60 dead bugs and then JUST maybe … you may have burned off half the calories!

Denise

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Amazing Creme Brûlée with 4 ingredients!

  1. Denise, This blog was so good and your pictures were awesome … very supportive of your words and giving a visual explanation. And the last picture .. you are becoming a culinary artist !! It was beautiful and I was ready to sample Love my girl, Mom

  2. Champagne Taste Catering on said:

    This looks easy enough! Thanks for sharing AND I own a blow torch!

    Date: Sun, 19 Aug 2012 12:17:21 +0000 To: forchampagnetaste@msn.com

  3. Kimberley on said:

    d, This looks awesome. I am going to try to make this, maybe this week. I’ll let you know how it goes. Brad loves crème brulee! thanks for all of your great blogs k

  4. patrick leonard on said:

    creme brulee is awesome – trust me I have had several. Sounds like a great desert for tonight.

    husband

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

