Living the Dream …

Baking with Denise

Zucchini Boats

 

I loved the little zucchini canoes I made a few weeks ago, so I decided to make them again and grill them out on our new “Big Green Egg!”  If you are not familiar with the Big Green Egg … it’s a charcoal grill on STEROIDS!

Besides all of the desserts that I make, in general we eat pretty healthy. We gave up white pasta, white bread and white rice years ago and have switched to whole grains.  I’m thankful that my boys don’t really know the difference between the two!

We introduced Quinoa into the house about a year ago, and I have enjoyed using it on several occasions. (Although I have yet to try it for breakfast, there is a recipe on the package for that… weird!) It’s really simple to cook, will keep fresh in the fridge for about 5 days and is packed with fiber!

Normally, I serve it like I would a side of rice or pasta.  Today, I decide to use it to help bind my topping mixture for the Zucchini canoes!

I start by washing two small zucchini and then slice them in half. I then scoop out the insides (leaving about a 1/2″ of pulp ) and drizzle them with a little EVOO – extra virgin olive oil.

I mince half of a small onion,  and sauté it with one teaspoon of EVOO for about two minutes.

While the onions are sautéing I mince a clove of garlic and add that to the soften onions for another minute.

I mix the onion and garlic mixture with the a cup of cooked Quinoa.  (You could also use rice or orzo.)

I could stop here and scoop out my filling into the zucchini. However, I remember that I have “Organic/ Rennet Free” Jalapeño Cheddar in the fridge. (Rennet – is an enzyme in a cow’s belly that helps cheese separate the solids from the liquids. YUCK!)  Oh yes, this cheese is from my CHEESE OF THE MONTH CLUB and I will NOT be embarrassed!  Thank you, big brother!

I use my kitchen shears to cut the cheese into small pieces and add it to the mixture.

I combine and fill my little hollowed-out canoes. They look so cute, but are missing something.  I add a couple of sprinkles of Panko (Japanese bread crumb) to give it that bit of crunch and some fresh parsley for color.  Voila!

Off to get the Big Green Egg going!

I grill them along my veggie burger for about 10 minutes. They come off the grill looking great, just a few more sprinkles of fresh parsley from my garden and our dinner was complete!

Make sure to check out my earlier blog (date?) for another recipe using these canoe boats.  They are so easy and definitely could be made ahead of time.

These little guys aren’t too bad for you … so add a nice glass of Chardonnay to your meal and call it a day!

Grill ON!

Denise


 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Boats

  1. patrick leonard on said:

    zuccinni canoes are awesome – consumed several

  2. alina on said:

    love it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

