Living the Dream …

Baking with Denise

Dark Chocolate Mousse

 

Dark Chocolate Mousse on the Food Network.

It’s official. Bobby Flay must actually have some secret technique that he is not sharing with me about this Mousse recipe!  That has to be the problem, right?  It can’t be “my” technique … (ha-ha).  It’s not like I haven’t made chocolate mousse 15 times before … all with great success!

Oh no, just not THIS time. TWICE – I have now made this recipe, and both times it turned out with chunks of chocolate in it. (STILL tasted GREAT!)

However, mousse isn’t suppose to be chunky! (Thank you, 4th of July guests, for NOT commenting!!)

We love chocolate at our house, and by that, I mean good, rich, specialty dark chocolate.  I was spoiled as a child with high-end chocolate.  I grew up in Dayton, Ohio, where Esther Price Candy originated. (www.estherprice.com) My step father, who was raised in a small suburb of Dayton called Oakwood, would go to Esther’s front porch as a child and get chocolate samples as she passed them out.  Once you have had a piece of Esther’s Dark Chocolate melt in your mouth, you won’t bother with the cheap stuff! (You will also gain a permanent 5 lbs)

I have enjoyed making different chocolate mousse recipes over the years.  Some were light and fluffy, and others really rich and thick, more like ganache.  When we have dinner parties, it’s the question I get asked the most. “Did you make chocolate mousse?”

When I am looking for a new recipe, I normally go through all of the recipes I have pulled from magazines or go online to http://www.foodnetwork.com.  I trust their Chefs and enjoy reading the review of the recipes before I make them.  No one else seemed to have the problem of chunky chocolate … lame.  Maybe you all can help me figure out where I went wrong?  I have a suspicion as to what part of the recipe I rushed …

page1image19704
page1image19976
page1image20248
page1image20520
page1image20792
page1image21064
page1image21336
page1image21608
page1image21880
Let’s begin!

Dark Chocolate- Chop 6 oz coarsely and slowly melt in a Bain Marie or double boiler.

In making the mousse the first time, I noticed that I didn’t get as much chocolate flavor as I would have liked. So, for the second batch , I increased the chocolate to the present 6oz.  Once the chocolate melts, set aside and let COOL TO ROOM TEMPERATURE.  I transfer the chocolate from the Bain Marie to another bowl because the residual heat from the hot water still in the Bain Marie wasn’t allowing my chocolate to cool down fast enough.  You could do this step a few hours ahead of time.

Next up, Bobby recommends whipping the cream over a “bath of ice.”  This means that you fill an extra-large bowl with ice and then put a smaller bowl in that bowl and whip the heavy cream.  Another option is to put both your whisk and bowl in the freezer for about 20 minutes.  You can even measure out the heavy cream needed and either put that in the freezer or in the back of your fridge so it is VERY cold.  I put what I need to in the freezer and move onto separating out the egg whites.

After I separate the eggs, I whip the whites into soft peaks and then add in an ounce of superfine sugar (My Aunt Pam told me about this type of sugar years ago – it dissolves faster. You can even make superfine sugar yourself at home by putting regular sugar in a food processor and pulsing about 5 times).  I then whip until the egg whites have stiff peaks. You do want the egg whites to be fairly stiff because this is what helps hold the mousse together.

It’s time to add the melted chocolate to the whipped egg whites. My chocolate was left sitting for at least 20 minutes and had cooled but POSSIBLY not enough!  Something caused chunks!

Next time, if I dare make this recipe again, I will let it cool for at least an HOUR!  I now slowly add 1/3 of the chocolate to the egg whites and FOLD with a large rubber or wooden spatula for about a minute. Then I add in the rest of the chocolate and fold until most of the whites are mixed in.

I take both the frozen bowl and whisk out of the freezer, pour in the chilled heavy cream and begin to beat.  I use my stand mixer and start at a low to medium speed for about 2 minutes and then increase the speed to medium high until there are stiff peaks. I finally add the whipped cream to the chocolate by folding it in until there are no white cream streaks left.

You can serve the Chocolate Mousse in ramekins, martini glasses or these cute chocolate cups I purchased at Sur La Table.

As I said before, the mousse tasted great but DEFINITELY had big chunks of chocolate in it! You know I will try this again … until I can get it right!!! In the mean time, I need to do about 500 sit ups to burn off all the fat from the heavy cream! Chocolate calories are, of course, free.

For those chef’s out there that are reading this … what do YOU think I did wrong? Was it the temperature of the chocolate? Or was the whipped cream too cold and that made the chocolate solidify again?

Melt on! Then MELT IT OFF at the gym! This one will pack on some POUNDS if you’re not careful with your portion size!

Denise

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Mousse

  1. Jenny on said:

    Hazel! Am enjoying reading your blog and am so glad you posted the link! Hope you are well! All these foods look yummy!!

    Jenny

  2. Michelina Stillson on said:

    Dark chocolates and milk chocolates are the best. `

    <a href="Brand new article on our blog page
    http://www.caramoantourpackage.com/caramoan-beach-resort/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

