Living the Dream …

Baking with Denise

Brioche for Pecan Sticky Buns – Step One TWD

TWD- Brioche Recipe for Pecan Sticky Buns!

Another week and another recipe to conquer from Dorie Greenspan’s book “Baking with Julia.”  I have never made sticky buns before.  I don’t even think I have ever tried one before.  I have had and baked some seriously amazing cinnamon rolls.  I finally was trusted by family friends with their Cinnamon Roll recipes a few years ago.  I am hoping one day to ask them if I can share their recipe with my MANY followers.  (If you don’t know me personally … insert a dry sense of humor OFTEN)  Shout out to Terry and Mike Bevis from Ohio. I won’t mention the city as I don’t want people coming to their house weekend mornings expected a cup of coffee and some rolls!

This recipe that we are going to do today is the first part of a two-day recipe. You can find the recipe by going to amazon and buying the book OR checking out our hosts for the week. I still can’t figure out how to just insert their name and it takes you to their link. If you know, will you please let me know.  :)

http://eatdrinkmanwomandogscat.com/

http://cookiesonfriday.blogspot.com/

Brioche- Day 1

Oh yes, back to me working with yeast breads.  If you read about my previous experience with yeast breads you are probably aware that it is technically possible to actually have a yeast bread EXPLODE and have a chef ask if  “we should just throw away your dough. “   Awesome! (Again, insert sarcasm.)

Don’t worry; I have no fear when it comes to baking, so I am ready for another round of working with yeast.

We start this Brioche sponge (starter) by warming up the milk to 100-110 degrees. I have a digital thermometer so I use that to check the temperature. (An inexpensive digital thermometer is one of my top 5 cooking tools!)

With a fork I mix in the yeast and let it set for 5 minutes. Then I add the yeast mixture, egg and flour into the stand mixer. Now start the mixer on a low speed for 20 seconds and then increase the speed and mix for 2 minutes.  I sprinkle the remaining cup of flour on top of the dough mixture.

Then, I let it rise uncovered in the mixing bowl for about 30-40 minutes.  (I peek back in the bowl and am SURE that I have screwed up the recipe already. It just looks like I dumped flour into the bowl.  However, after checking back in 40 minutes, the dough has risen and now the flour looks less like I DUMPED it on top.

Next I add the sugar, salt, eggs and a cup of flour to the sponge/starter and switch out my beater blade with the dough hook. I mix on low for about two minutes.

Then, I add in the remaining flour while the mixer is still on low and mix until incorporated.  At this point your stand mixer is going to get a workout.  Turn the speed up to medium and mix for 15 minutes. YES, 15 MINUTES!  My mixer did fine but some other bloggers commented that their mixers got very HOT!  After about 7 to 10 minutes you should start to hear the mixture “slap” (oh, yes, that is the word they use) against the side of the mixer.  If this doesn’t happen, add 3 T of flour and continue to mix for the full 15 minutes.  Now comes the fun and messy part. I take my softened butter and with my pastry scraper, I chop it up into smaller pieces on the granite.

Then I start to smear the butter across a small section of granite. You literally want the butter to be smooth.

I turn the mixer on medium low and start to add the butter a few tablespoons at a time.  The dough will separate and you will think you have ruined it …

but give it 5 minutes and watch it pull itself back together.

It is time for the first rise, so I transfer the dough into a buttered bowl covering it tightly with plastic wrap.

Let rise for about 2 ½ hours.  Now the dough needs a second rise. So I first deflate it with a new technique … use one finger to scoop around the edges and then underneath the risen dough.  (almost like you are doing a fold, but instead of a spatula you use your finger)  Historically, I have just done the PUNCH!  BAM!  I cover the bowl again and place in the fridge overnight for the second rise.

Step One Done!   Time to open a bottle of wine and clean up my mess!

This makes a lovely brioche.  Needless to say you could bake this dough by itself!

Be patient for Step Two, I think it will be worth the wait!

Denise

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Brioche for Pecan Sticky Buns – Step One TWD

  1. Brian on said:

    Please mail samples immediately

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

