Living the Dream …

Baking with Denise

Sour Cream Coffee Cake – MY MOST REQUESTED

 

Are you ready for the big reveal?  Since 99% of my followers are my closest friends and family, I am sure you know the answer to this.

SOUR CREAM COFFEE CAKE!  My mom told me that she made this recipe for the first time a few days after I was born.  So, it’s been in our family for a LONG TIME!

Over the years, I have made at least 50 of these coffee cakes and am always asked for the recipe.  I have experimented changing up the recipe here and there to lighten up the fat and calories. But honestly, I probably eat as little as two slices every year, so; we are going for the almost FULL FAT version today!  I always double this recipe as it freezes really well, and it’s always nice to give one to a friend!

Mise En Place

In a large standing mixer, I combine 2 sticks of room temperature unsalted butter and 1 cup of shortening for about a minute.  Once they have combined, I add in the sugar and mix at a medium high speed for another minute.  Whenever you cream butter and sugar together,  it is important that the butter is softened to room temperature. If you need to hurry that process, I would suggest cutting the sticks of butter into one inch pieces and giving them at least 20 mins to soften.

Next,  I add in the eggs (one at a time, giving about 30 seconds between each addition), vanilla and sour cream . Mix until well blended, scraping down the sides and bottom of the bowl if need be.

Finally, I slowly add in the flour (1/3 at a time).  I always cover my standing mixer because I hate it when the flour POUFS and makes a mess everywhere. I also start the mixer on low for about 30 seconds and then increase the speed with each addition of flour. Set Aside once combined.

Topping: For this, I use a small food processor, but you can also do this by hand.  I put in whole pecans, cinnamon and brown sugar and then pulse it about 15 times. You want the pecans to break down into small pieces so you can sprinkle them on the batter layers.  (I have found that one of my handful’s is a half of a cup of pecans)

Grease two bundt pans with butter or an oil spray.  This is the only recipe that I like to use the oil spray so I know I am getting into every crevice of the bundt pan. I use a huge spoon and scoop out roughly 1/3 full of the cake mixture.  I place it equally around the bottom of each pan, trying to not get the batter all over the sides. I gently smooth out this layer of batter before sprinkling on the topping. (I use 2/3′s of the topping on this first layer of  the cake)  For the top layer of the cake, I evenly split the rest of batter and spoon it into the two bundt pans and then sprinkle this last layer with the remaining topping.

Bake both cakes on the middle rack at 375 degrees for about 45 mins.

Do not over bake the cakes or they will be dry and lack rich flavor.  I use a big wooden skewer instead of a toothpick to check the doneness.

Cool cake for 10 minutes and then use a small tool (like a plastic or rubber spatula) to help release the edges, separating the cake from the pan as far down the side of the pans as you can.  Don’t be tempted to use a dinner knife, as it will scrape your bundt pan. (yes, I know this from experience!)

I’d let it cool for another 15-20 mins before doing the big FLIP! What is the big FLIP? Check out my first video and potentially last video!  (notice the work out clothes … if you are going to eat more than 2 pieces of this a year and need to hit the stair master!)

If you can’t down load the video, here is my best explanation. Use that small tool to go around all the edges again …  don’t forget the middle circle. I then put a thick paper plate (or 3-4 thin ones) on a regular dinner/serving plate and put those plates on top the bundt pan.  Next, holding the bundt pan with the plates on top, firmly with both hands, I literally give it one big shake. Then I do the big flip and invert the bundt pan.  Then I say a small prayer. (see mom, I do pray) and hope for the best.  I gently set the plate down on the counter, and slowly lift off the bundt pan … VOILA!  It worked .. or it flopped. (it will taste just as good if it flops!)  I lightly sprinkle (using a metal sifter) the top with powdered sugar to add to the presentation and hide imperfections!

Enjoy … and you really should share this …

D

PS: if you want a less fat version let me know, as I have tried just about every alternative fat out there.  Greek Yogurt is the best!

Recipe:

2 sticks of butter or 1 stick and 1/2 c of shortening
2 c white sugar
2 large eggs
cream together
ADD
1 c sour cream
1/2 t vanilla
MIX
ADD
1/4 t salt
1 1/4 t baking powder
2 c cake flour
MIX
TOPPING:
2 T brown sugar
1t cinnamon
1/2 c chopped pecans
pour 1/3 into greased coffee cake pan
sprinkle with 2/3 topping
pour remaining batter
top with remaining topping
Cook for 40-50 minutes
Let cool for 10 minutes and flip it onto a serving plate.

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Sour Cream Coffee Cake – MY MOST REQUESTED

  1. Brian on said:

    giving up the family secrets!

  2. Pingback: In Honor of Lilly~part 2 « Sadie Bakes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

